X Close

Youth Council

Leading the future generation

The Youth Council was created to provide an opportunity for the youth in our community to learn about and participate in local government. The Youth Council serves the youth of the Cedar Valley area by informing the Eagle Mountain municipal government of the needs and wishes of the youth and by organizing and taking part in social, educational, cultural, and recreational activities for the local youth.

Students in grades 8-12 who reside or attend school in Eagle Mountain, Cedar Fort or Fairfield are eligible to participate in the Youth Council. Students must be a resident of Eagle Mountain and be in at least 10th grade to serve as Mayor.


Youth Council meetings are generally held scheduled once per month on the second Wednesday of the month at 6 p.m. in the City Council Chambers at City Hall, and are available for anyone to attend.


A Youth Council pre-election meeting is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. on Wednesday, May 15 in the City Council Chambers. The meeting will be held to review the functions, goals and purpose of the youth council. Individual youth interested in election to youth council may file a statement of candidacy at the pre-election meeting or email a statement to recorder@emcity.org. The deadline to file is midnight on May 16, 2024. 

Elections for the Youth Council will be held May 21, 2024. The primary polling location is City Hall, 1650 E Stagecoach Run, Eagle Mountain, UT 84005 from 7:00 AM to 7:00 PM.  Ballot boxes will also be available during lunch periods at Cedar Valley High School, Westlake High School, and Frontier Middle School.

Every student who runs for office will be listed on a single ballot. The eligible student receiving the most votes at the election will serve as Youth Mayor. The candidates receiving the next five highest numbers of votes will serve as members of the youth council. All remaining candidates will have the opportunity to serve as either youth department heads or committee members.

Youth City Council Members

Youth Council Mayor

Ericsson Ansah-Antwi

Youth Council Members

Eddy Vanisi
Kayson Welch
Kennseth Call
Sedona Montano
Taya Watson

Youth Council Advisors

Angeline Washburn
Nate Washburn

City Council Liaison

Councilmember Donna Burnham

Teenagers smiling

City Code Chapter 2.45 – Youth Council

Eagle Mountain City Code provides detailed guidelines on Youth Council organization, purpose, responsibilities and requirements for service. Individuals who are interested in learning more about the Youth Council and its organization are encouraged to refer to City Code Chapter 2.45 for more information.

Follow Us

  • Issue Reporting Hotline:
  • 801-789-5959
  • Option 1 – Parks and Recreation
    Option 2 – Water
    Option 3 – Sewer
    Option 4 – Storm Water
    Option 5 – Streets
  • For Emergencies, dial 911